Board of Directors

UMD’s Board of Directors provides oversight and governance for our programs. Diverse in ethnicity, gender, age and background and united in dedication to UMD’s mission, the board generally meets monthly. Members also serve on committees that support all areas of operation, including finance, technology, development, programs and volunteers.

Yolanda Brown – Founder & CEO of Fun Spaces, Chair

Nish Evans – Owner, Lennox + Grae, Inc., Vice Chair

Scott Matheson – Managing Director, Defined Contribution Practice Leader, CAPTRUST, Treasurer

Sandy Mouras – Director of Residence Life, The Forest at Duke, Secretary    

Jason Brown – Solutions Expert, Dor

Effiong Ekanem – Counsel, Square 1 Bank

Lauren Goslin - LCSW; Social worker, Triangle Neuropsychology Services, PLLC

Vanessa Hodges – Professor of social work, N.C. Central University

Jonah Kendall – Rector, St. Philips Episcopal Church

Bernadette Lipscomb – Registered nurse & educator, retired

Jamaal Livan – Vice president & credit officer, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Janet Northen – Partner, director of agency communications, McKinney

Joe O'Shaughnessy – District manager, Starbucks Coffee Company

Michael Page – Former County Commission chair, pastor of Antioch Baptist Church

Jay Simmons – Retired

David Sotolongo – Vice president, RTI International

Shawn Sullivan – Director, Enterprise Analytics, Blue Cross Blue Shield of NC

Bob Walker – Chief operating officer, 8 Rivers Capital

Sam Whitted – PUM, Housing for New Hope

If you are interested in being considered for board membership, please contact Sheldon Mitchell at (919) 682-0538 ext. 127.